Carlos – Will he? won’t he??

Warning: This is not what you think it is…!!


Last week, I visited Auto Expo. Bowled over by the entire Spectacle, I was bragging about it to my friends, when Carlos interrupted.

Carlos:         Dude, it’s nothing compared to what I have been doing since last couple o` months.

Me:    Achchha??? What r u up to NOW ??? ( I said sarcastically.)

Carlos:         I’m working on a Teleportation machine. ( He winked @ me.)

Me:    A what?? 

Carlos:         A teleportation machine, One that transports an object from one place to another in no time.

Me:    What?? U r not serious; r u??

Carlos:         Why?? I’m dead serious. Ok, tell me, is it possible for u to be in Mumbai  after say, 4 hrs???

Me:    Well, yes; but that’s- (Carlos shushed me.)

Carlos:         And Will it be possible to go be in Mumbai in a minute, at least theoretically, in a distant future??

Me:    Umm, yes, but that’s highly improbable.

Carlos:         Highly Improbable, but still possible, right??? So, won’t it be possible, how little probable it might be, to be here, in Delhi at one moment & in Mumbai the next ??? (Carlos said in ‘I Gotcha!!!’ voice.)

Me:    That’s insane!!! U cannot be at 2 places at the same time!!!

Carlos:         TIME!!! Time is an illusion my friend. Time is an I-L-L-U-S-I-O-N.    (One of Carlos’ Quotable Quote.)

Me:    (Silent)

Carlos:         Ok, Ok. I accept that this event is so highly improbable that the probability or chances of it occurring could be 1 in zillion to the power zillion to the power zillion…

Me:    Then how can u- (Carlos cut me.)

Carlos:         Look, (in serious tone) what is probability?? Probability is the likelihood of an event under certain set of favourable circumstances. So, if we somehow produce that same set of favourable circumstances, we can certainly make that event happen, right??

Me:    How u gonna do that?

Carlos:         Simple!! By controlling the Probability! If I calculate the exact probability of an object being at multiple places, I can feed that in a special transportation device like, say, a modified car(Which I’m gonna build soon…) & Baaam!!! We r ready to teleport that object at any place we want!!!

Me:    Excuse me!!! Did I miss something??

Carlos:         It’s simple yaaaar… Have u seen BACK TO THE FUTURE??? It’s like that only. Using this Probability-Fed-Car, I can create a WORMHOLE that distorts the Time-Space Continuum, creates a bridge or a shortcut between two geographically distant locations which can be exploited by Diving right into the Wormhole.

Me:    A Wormhole huh…!!!

Carlos:         Yeah, like the one in…  TERMINATOR  or Donnie Darko??

Me:    Hmm… Impressive. But it’s all fiction! Don’t u think??

Carlos:         On the contrary, in fact, this is very much a possibility. Einstein himself thought of this through his Special Theory of Relativity. Even a school of thought in Quantum Mechanics is exploring a similar hypothesis, which, u must know, is primitive compared to what I have set out to accomplish!!

Me:    And about this probability thing; How u gonna calculate that to the exact precision??

Carlos:         That’s the Trick u know!!! That’s the Trick!!

(Seeing the quizzical expressions on my face he continued.)

Carlos:         Do u think, I can create this machine??? Be honest.

Me:    I think it’s impossible.(I kinda hoped that he wouldn’t get hurt.)

Carlos:         Correct. Even I think So!! (I opened my mouth but he shushed me) So, if I can calculate how impossible it is for me create this machine, I can use that value as probability. Isn’t it brilliant??

( I did a double take !! )

Me:    So u r going to create this machine by assuming that u cannot possibly create it???

Carlos:         Yes. It’s almost impossible.

Me:    And, u r trying to calculate how much impossible it is to create this machine in order to create this machine???

Carlos:         Yes, off course. (He said in ‘Now u Get it!!’ kind of tone)

Me:    Carlos, u r a genius!!!


Even though Carlos’ idea sounded absurd, I did some Googling. (He is a dear friend u know…) Next morning I went to see him.

Me:    There is a book called ‘Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy‘ which has a mention of a similar idea.”

Carlos:         “What!!! Those bastards stole my idea???”

Me:    “It is Highly Improbable( I particularly stressed on last 2 words).  Douglas Adams wrote it, like, 30 years ago.”

(Carlos waited. Then suddenly said.)

Carlos:         “Dude??? Haven’t u heard of Time Travel???”



PS: Couldn’t help it. Don’t call me a Geek  😛


About Aditya

Hi, I am Aditya Parab, currently studying @ Dept. of Management Studies , IIT Delhi. Apart from Blogging, my interests are in Travelling, Serious Readings, Movies, Soccer, Finance & Media 2.0 . I can be reached @ E-Mail - thefountainhead86@gmail.com . Twitter - aditya_parab
This entry was posted in Expressions, Fiction, Humour, Movies, Personal, science, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment