a fish out of water…

 

Ok, Ok. Call me a weirdo, but I’ve got to confess: “Home Sucks Big Time!!!” There. There I said it… cause I can’t have it no more!!! “Why? What??” u might ask. Wait, let me explain…

Parents could be at times pain in ur…well, forget I said it… A doting mother leaves no stones unturned in pampering u with all ‘Fatty’ n ‘Oily’ affection she showers on u, not to mention all the spicy gossips she shares “just for ur information, Beta…” so that u can know ur neighbours & relatives ‘better’. A proud father who introduces his son to everybody with an added suffix of ‘-MBA’ (& son smiles shyly…) & who suddenly starts asking son’s ‘expert (MBAed)’ opinion in matters like buying property, shares n home interior… son only wants to be left alone, with his fish tank… Having a younger sibling doesn’t help either. He wants u to watch his back while he’s out having a jolly gud time with GF. And u can’t be mad at him either because he buys u a really cool T from his 1st salary. (“This is for u Bro,” he says.) 

The point is: “I am Sooo not cut out for this. A social misfit u would say. But why blame me, I used to be a gud ‘Kid’, before I left home for the first time. & then, well, everything changed… It was like, till then, for 15 long years,  a Vampire (read: ‘yours truly’) had been bred in the family of pure veggies. But the Vampire, once tasted the blood infected with LIFE, was game for it. It was a life, he had hardly imagined for himself. But then, the more he got of it, the more he became addicted. Away from ‘watching’ eyes, he enjoyed every bit of freedom he got…

Nowadays, whenever there is a ‘Homecoming’, I feel like a fish out of the water… or a Harry Potter outta Hogwartz !!! (It has now become a favourite pass time to picture myself in a magical world… n watching ‘Supernatural’ doesn’t help either 😦 ) It feels as if, when at home, I lose all my powers… like when Superman is forced to wear the necklace made of cryptonite!!!  Somehow I am more lazy, more dumb n more sleepy in the ‘home sweet home’. (might be one of Mom’s secret potions or something…)

The other day, a cousin excitedly suggested, “Let’s all plan a grand get together this Diwali!!” ”Urr, I am gonna pass this time…” I coyly muttered.

About Aditya

Hi, I am Aditya Parab, currently studying @ Dept. of Management Studies , IIT Delhi. Apart from Blogging, my interests are in Travelling, Serious Readings, Movies, Soccer, Finance & Media 2.0 . I can be reached @ E-Mail - thefountainhead86@gmail.com . Twitter - aditya_parab
This entry was posted in Expressions, Humour, Lifestyle, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment