Heroes are infallible

I am a little worried here. My man, Lance(look above) is under the doping radar. Yes. This man, who almost lost his life (and balls) fighting testicular cancer, came back & won a world record 7 Tour de France in row, and in process, achieved an another world record of officially urinating (for anti-doping agencies) more than any other athlete. Because, everybody thought, how the hell could somebody like him, just come, ride a bicycle for 21 straight days, 3500 kilometres, in murderous conditions & stand on the podium, wearing yellow jersey! And hence they tested him, for every banned substance on the planet. They found him CLEAN, every single time.

But, now, when he is finally retired for good, the ghosts have come to haunt him again. This time around, because of some sensational allegations, by his own fellow bike riders, who rode with him all these years. And to tell the truth, I too am a little confused here.

What if, Lance Armstrong is found guilty? What if they strip him off all those wins & all those years of his life? I am not worried about him. I am worried about myself. Should this make me think less of him? Should I feel cheated n tricked into worshipping him for all the inspiration he has instilled in me & millions like me? Or should I… just erase him from my conscience?

After much deliberation, I have come to… umm… sort of conclusion (Although ‘confusion’ would be a better choice.) And I have decided to follow my heart and worship my hero – even if he turns out a ‘Cheat’. Because cheat or no-cheat, he has already done the damage – by thrilling us & inspiring us.

Remember your heroes. Those heroes, who in their glorious career, had some rather hideous moments. Remember Andre Agassi, who fought like a champion & lost like a champion, but confessed last year about testing positive for crystal meth. Remember Che Guevara, arguably the most cult figure of last century (& certainly the most T-shirt friendly!), who is sometimes reviled for being a cruel mass-murderer and narrow minded tactician. Will this stop us from sporting him on our chests? I guess not, because we are in love with a different Che, who romanticizes our minds & pumps our hearts.

And, by the way, who needs Clean, sensible heroes nowadays. (‘Hero’ by definition sparks ‘Heroics’!) We love madmen! We love Sehwag, who with his ‘Devil may care’ style, pelts the bowlers for sixes when he is a stroll away from century. We love, Usain Bolt, who, sprints with untied shoelaces & slows down to celebrate his win even before the race is over & still manages to break the world record by handsome margin!! We love (At least, I personally do.) cowboys, who without taking gun out of their pockets, shoot 3 bullets in 5 different directions, hitting bulls eye, all the while managing a cigar puff!!!

Dope can do many wonderful things; but no dope can make all this happen…

About Aditya

Hi, I am Aditya Parab, currently studying @ Dept. of Management Studies , IIT Delhi. Apart from Blogging, my interests are in Travelling, Serious Readings, Movies, Soccer, Finance & Media 2.0 . I can be reached @ E-Mail - thefountainhead86@gmail.com . Twitter - aditya_parab
This entry was posted in Celebrities, Emotions, Personal, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Heroes are infallible

  1. Aditya says:

    I think.

Leave a comment